1 Night Movie Review

Drugstore Divas received a link to stream this movie for this 1 Night Movie Review. All thoughts and opinions belong to Drugstore Divas.

Today is Valentine’s Day, one of my favorite days of the year. It’s just a day where it’s okay to let your heart fill and bubble over with love and hope and happily ever after. Plus, it’s also a really good excuse to binge watch sappy romantic movies. And sure, maybe you choose the classics, but this year, I watched an advanced copy of Level 33’s new film “1 Night.”

It’s cute.

It’s also really predictable, but let’s be honest: all the best romantic comedies are.

See, I’m the kind of person who reads enough of a book to find out who the main characters are, then reads the end to find out what happens, and then goes back to finish the middle. I don’t like surprises, I don’t like not knowing what is going to happen, and I don’t like not being in charge.

So a suspense, a cliffhanger, a show on a streaming network that still has a few seasons to go … not for me. But a romantic comedy and it’s predictability and its happily ever after, I will sit through every one. And throw in a line like, “(Women) don’t want nice. They want extraordinary. They don’t want a hug. They want a punch in the gut.” Yup, you’ve got me hooked.

Justin Chatwin’s Drew says it to Kyle Allen’s Andy, two of only seven speaking characters in the just-over-one-hour movie. It’s one of the better lines in the movie, although there are a couple that jump out at you. What really stand out, though, is just how adorable Andy and Bea (Isabelle Fuhrman) are together. It’s their prom night, and they’re high school seniors. It’s a time when it seems there’s a world of opportunity in front of them. Except, if we’re all being honest, when you’re almost-graduated teenagers, there’s less possibility than notion of possibility. They’re kids. What’s there to do besides find the gravity in working a boring summer job. But being so young puts such monumental significance on everything and that includes falling in love.

Oh how we fall when we are babies.

And how we fall when we see that young love. It’s just something so pure, and that’s exactly what we — and Drew and Elizabeth (Anna Camp) — witness.

The movie actually ends with a twist, as far as romantic comedies are concerned, but not as the viewers are concerned. You’ll put it together right away. It doesn’t take away from the movie. It actually makes you like the characters more because, for me, if not for that revelation, I wouldn’t have cared for Elizabeth. Pitch Perfect’s Anna Camp is the highest billed on this, but I think she’s the weakest actor of the four leads.

If you’re looking for something cute to watch, this is it. And, in honor of Valentine’s Day, we’re giving away a digital copy of the movie.

1 Night Movie Giveaway

To enter, just use the Rafflecopter below. The giveaway starts now and ends at 11:59pm EST on February 21. The winner must be a US resident who is 18 or older at the time of entry. The movie will be delivered in the form of an iTunes digital download.

Good luck.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Drugstore Divas received no compensation for this giveaway (I just really like romantic comedies and wanted to watch it). Drugstore Divas is not responsible for prize fulfillment.

35 Comments

  1. Gail Rosenstrom

    February 15, 2017 at 7:54 am

    I did go to my prom. It was held in a museum with no air conditioning just large fans in Florida. It was horribly hot but we all danced anyway!

  2. elizabeth miller

    February 15, 2017 at 8:21 am

    I did go to my prom. It was a blast. Definitly a forever memory.

  3. Charlene S.

    February 15, 2017 at 10:55 am

    No, I dropped out of high school after 10th grade.

  4. Diane baum

    February 15, 2017 at 5:30 pm

    I was a geek, didn’t go to my prom.

  5. KENNETH OHL

    February 15, 2017 at 5:53 pm

    I did not go to my prom was not interested

  6. Amy Deeter

    February 15, 2017 at 7:21 pm

    I never went to prom.I really wish i would have

  7. cheryl s

    February 15, 2017 at 7:25 pm

    Yes I went to a couple different proms

  8. Danielle Day

    February 15, 2017 at 7:54 pm

    Nope, never got to go.

  9. Sarah Gillespie

    February 15, 2017 at 8:04 pm

    I have always regretted not going to prom.

  10. Stephanie Liske

    February 15, 2017 at 10:45 pm

    I did go to my Jr. Prom.

  11. Kayla Klontz

    February 15, 2017 at 11:43 pm

    I went to a prom, but it wasn’t my prom, I was a freshman and I went to the prom with a senior at his. It was awesome.

  12. Shannon Baas

    February 16, 2017 at 2:31 am

    I did but it was a long time ago.,

  13. David S

    February 16, 2017 at 11:50 am

    No, I did not go to my prom.

  14. Heather B

    February 16, 2017 at 11:25 pm

    I did not go to Prom.

  15. bernie wallace

    February 18, 2017 at 7:44 am

    I did not go to my Prom. I stayed home and watched a movie with my brothers. Thanks for the giveaway. I hope that I win.

  16. Marilyn Nawara

    February 18, 2017 at 10:43 am

    No, I didn’t go to my prom.

  17. Donna Clifford

    February 18, 2017 at 12:49 pm

    No I never did.

  18. Lisa V.

    February 18, 2017 at 5:29 pm

    I went to my Junior and Senior proms.

  19. susan smoaks

    February 19, 2017 at 9:47 am

    i did not go to prom.

  20. Tiffany Banks

    February 19, 2017 at 9:38 pm

    No I did not go to prom. I was pregnant at the time and didn’t feel up to it! I always wished I had went though :/

  21. Rosanne

    February 20, 2017 at 9:54 am

    Yes I went to my prom but I wish I didn’t. It was a miserable experience because of the person I went with. I was in a bad mood all night.

  22. Kyl Neusch

    February 20, 2017 at 10:22 am

    I did not go to my prom.

  23. beth shepherd

    February 20, 2017 at 1:05 pm

    I went and had a fabulous time.

  24. Kim Keithline

    February 20, 2017 at 7:16 pm

    I went to the prom with my boyfriend that I had at the time

  25. Angela Saver

    February 20, 2017 at 8:35 pm

    Yes, I did go to my prom!

  26. Lori Walker

    February 20, 2017 at 8:35 pm

    I did go to both of my proms.

  27. Kelley Roach

    February 20, 2017 at 9:07 pm

    I was a geek, didn’t go to my prom.

  28. renee

    February 20, 2017 at 10:37 pm

    I did not go to prom or any dances in high school because I can’t dance and didn’t like wearing dresses!

  29. Janice Gabriel

    February 21, 2017 at 12:37 am

    No, I did not go to my prom because the boy I wanted to go with was out of school and had a beard, which was verboten at the time!

  30. Rajee Pandi

    February 21, 2017 at 6:12 am

    I did not go to my prom as I dont have any chance. that sounds new to me

  31. Erika Cisneros

    February 21, 2017 at 1:04 pm

    i went to prom after only being out of surgery for a week and a half. i had missed out on so much school because of my health and didnt really get the whole prom thing right since my prom was a co worker that ditched me for the rest of my class and i couldnt really move around much after having my gallbladder taken out.. not too memorable of a night but all in all still Memories were made

  32. Marty C

    February 21, 2017 at 4:32 pm

    I didn’t. I didn’t have the money for a dress, etc. Too bad we can’t have grownup prom.

  33. Candie L

    February 21, 2017 at 5:55 pm

    I did. I went with a good friend. Thank you

  34. Vikki Billings

    February 21, 2017 at 9:35 pm

    I did not go to my prom, I did not have anyone ask me so I did not go.

  35. Trisha McKee

    February 21, 2017 at 11:18 pm

    I did go to prom…alone. Unfortunately, my date joined the arm and left town a week before prom.

Leave a Reply